Awe…some Mondays

DSC_9829A8x10Web

Saturday there was a model train show at one of the local hotel ballrooms. I love trains. I grew up with trains because my father worked for the Frisco Railroad over 40 years. I love models. I used to build model ships, planes and cars as a kid and I would still do some of it if space and budget allowed. I am always amazed at the level of detail of some of these miniature locomotives.

DSC_9893A4x6WEb

Of course the level of detail displayed on some of the structures is also quite impressive.  I found this model to be quite nicely done.

DSC_9782A8x10Web

There are several different sizes of model trains. “N” gauge is typically the smallest size for most collectors. The most common size is “HO” gauge. The largest size that most of us non collectors know about is the “Lionel” size trains. The model above is about twice the size of a Lionel train. Notice the amount of detail in the landscape and that trestle.

DSC_9841A8x10Web

This Southern Pacific train is HO gauge. The engine is about 7″-9″ long and abuout 2-1/2″ tall. There are hundreds of engines and thousands of cars to choose from. Next time I will try to photograph one of the vendors inventory. It will boggle your brain. Again, notice the effort made to make the presentation look real. I love this stuff.

DSC_9897A8x10Web

Okay, who knew that Lego’s had a complete line of model railroad kits? It is pretty close to the size of the Lionel trains of my youth, but everything here is from Lego.

DSC_9883A8x10Web

Of course Lego would have Elvis pulling up to a 50’s diner in his pink Caddy!

DSC_9733A8x10Web

These models are beautiful, coming and going. I will probably post a few more images very soon. Have a blessed week.

13 thoughts on “Awe…some Mondays

  1. I love trains too. My granddaughter loved them as well and when she was little we got her a train set. It was pricey, but she had such fun.

    Have a fabulous Awe…some Monday. 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Love trains ~ real and the model ones ~ When my Dad was alive, I gave him a model train set and he enjoyed it ~ Great photo by the way ~

    Happy Day to you,
    A ShutterBug Explores,
    aka (A Creative Harbor)

    Like

    Reply
  3. Oh I love trains! If I Had the budget I would travel everywhere I could by train! My uncle was a Railroader and my dear friend Michael was an engineer. He retired and passed away way too young. When I was a kid, my older brother had trains set up in our basement. I was so jealous!There was a restaurant too that had model trains running around the entire restaurant. I loved it when our folks took us there for a special SONday dinner. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Kathe W.

    These model trains look like a lot of fun…..but I love big trains even better since we can ride on them!
    MY favorite way to travel!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment